Harriet van Eldik-ten Hoopen

Desire Path a mini-movie… DesirePath--6 Originally from the Netherlands but living in Kuala Lumpur from the start of 2015 I was enjoying my new environment with a lot of attention. At first I roamed the KL streets with my camera and explored al that’s happening in several areas of the city until I started observing people taking the shortest way to somewhere through a construction site high up from my balcony at 29th floor. As a photographer, much of what I do is to observe and to document. I saw these scenes that I have captured unveil before me as a mini-movie! It’s fascinating to see the light, structures and patterns on the site changing due to weather or human involvement but most of all… I was wondering…. who are these people… what is their destination… going there on their own… They are walking in their slice of time, somebody was there before them, shadows are acting as an hourglass and together they create a desire path. Harriet was born in The Netherlands has lived in Norway and worked in several companies before she decided to start her education at the Photo Academy in Groningen. Three years later she was able to start her own business focussing on company- and documentary photography. Now she is lucky to be an expat again here in KL and has the opportunity to put more time and effort in ‘free work’ again. This mentor program enables her to meet local photographers and mentors who are really passionate about their work just as she is!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Harriet was mentored by Kenny Loh, and is a participant in Exposure+5

www.htenhoopen.nl

Leave a Reply

